The East Midlands


Type of Property


Visit Date






Or Property Name



Buy the Walkers and Cyclists Guide

Walkers & Cyclists Welcome: The East Midlands

Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland

The East Midlands offer an exciting and varied landscape. From the Lincolnshire Wolds to the majestic Robin Hood country of Sherwood Forest, and from the honeycomb villages of Rutland and Northamptonshire to the famous hunting county of Leicestershire, there is much to be seen and admired.

The region is a treasure trove of magnificent castles and historic houses, thriving cities and market towns.



Archery at sherwood Forest

This unique area has a rich history. Once an area of woodland and heathland stretching over 30 miles from Nottingham to Worksop, Sherwood Forest was historically a royal hunting ground enjoyed by a succession of kings hunting deer with falcons.

A number of main country parks remain including Rufford Abbey, Sherwood Forest National Nature Reserve and Sherwood Pines Forest Park, offering an insight into the history of this ancient forest.

Nottinghamshire has a strong horticultural tradition going back to the creation of the 'Dukeries' in the north of the county in the 17th and 18th centuries with prestigious estates at Clumber, Welbeck, Thoresby and Worksop. Also in the north of the county, Cresswell Crags are home to Robin Hood Cave, a fabled hideout for the outlaw and also the location of Britain's only examples of Ice Age cave art.


picture showing a walking party

England's second largest county is an area of ever-changing landscapes and exciting scenery, shaped by a rich tapestry of fascinating heritage, passionate people and intriguing traditions. The county offers a diverse selection of exciting attractions, activities events and festivals to suit everyone, as well as miles of peaceful scenery, nature reserves and wildlife.

The Lincolnshire Wolds is a range of hills designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. It is the highest area of land is Eastern England between Yorkshire and Kent and runs roughly parallel with the North Sea coast.

Lincolnshire is said to produce one eighth of food placed on British tables and its wide open meadows are testament to this. Gothic triple-towered Lincoln Cathedral is visible from the Fens from miles around, whilst Burghley in the south hosts annual Horse Trials and is a top tourist attraction.


Picture showing birds at Rutland Water

This internationally famous nature reserve and Site of Special Scientific Interest is managed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Wildlife Trust in partnership with Anglian Water. It provides one of the most important wildfowl sanctuaries in the UK, regularly holding in excess of 20,000 waterfowl.


picture showing woodland trail

The National Forest is a forest in the making, an inspirational example in the face of climate change and other pressures. Spread across three counties, the forest offers everything from peaceful woodland walks and gentle cycling, to action-packed adventures and historic attractions.


Can't decide between all the great destinations in the East Midlands? Start by browsing a complete list of walker or cyclist friendly accommodation across the whole region.

Browse All